Set Me Free Said the Sea

1280px-shadows_looking_at_stars
Image by Jess Mann

“I just can’t do it! I can’t, don’t you see?

I just can’t be who you want me to be!

I’d love to, I would! It’d be for the best.

But I just can’t do it, so give it a rest.

I wish I could sparkle, but try as I might

I’m nothing but darkness without Moonlight.

So accept me now or just set me free!

You be the Stars and I’ll be the Sea!”

This was written for Jane Dougherty’s Poetry Challenge. Her theme this week is stars, night and water, the image for the challenge is the photo above, and the style requirement is meter. I chose Tetrameter (four beats to the line).

12 thoughts on “Set Me Free Said the Sea

Leave a Reply

